1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	2nd Session of the 59th Legislature (2024)
3	
4	SENATE RESOLUTION 37 By: McCortney
-	
5	
6	AS INTRODUCED
7	A Resolution congratulating OU Softball and Coach Patty Gasso; and expressing appreciation for their
8	representation of the university and state.
9	
LO	
1	WHEREAS, the 2022 University of Oklahoma (OU) softball team,
L2	under the direction of head coach Patty Gasso, swept rival
L3	University of Texas in the Women's College World Series finals, to
L 4	win its second consecutive national title; and
L5	WHEREAS, the 2023 OU softball team swept Florida State in the
L 6	Women's College World Series finals to claim the program's third
L7	straight national championship; and
L8	WHEREAS, the Sooners, over the forty-nine-year history of the
L 9	University of Oklahoma softball program, have won seven national
20	championships, including five in the past seven years and six in the
21	past ten; and have competed in sixteen Women's College World Series,
22	including eleven of the last twelve; and
23	WHEREAS, the 2023 team set the NCAA Division I record for

Req. No. 3715 Page 1

longest winning streak, registering fifty-three victories in a row

1 to break a twenty-six-year-old record previously held by the 2 University of Arizona at forty-seven straight; and 3 WHEREAS, a nation-leading five Sooners were named 2023 National 4 Fastpitch Coaches Association First-Team All-Americans; and 5 WHEREAS, OU went undefeated in 2023 conference play for just the 6 fourth time in the league's history, finishing eighteen to zero and 7 winning the program's eleventh consecutive Big 12 regular season 8 title and fifteenth overall; and 9 WHEREAS, the Sooners completed the Big 12 title sweep by winning 10 the 2023 Big 12 Softball Championship in Oklahoma City, the 11 program's eighth conference tournament crown; and 12 WHEREAS, Coach Gasso was named Big 12 Coach of the Year for the 13 eleventh consecutive season in 2023 and fifteenth time overall; and 14 WHEREAS, OU placed eight student-athletes on the 2023 All-Big 12 15 teams, including a league-high seven on the first team; and 16 WHEREAS, OU student-athletes took home three 2023 conference 17 individual awards in Big 12 Player of the Year Jayda Coleman, Big 12 18 Pitcher of the Year Jordy Bahl, and Big 12 Defensive Player of the 19 Year Grace Lyons; and 20 WHEREAS, the 2023 team went undefeated at home in the twenty-21 fifth and final campaign at Marita Hynes Field, finishing nineteen 22 to zero to extend OU's home-field winning streak to sixty-five 23 games.

Req. No. 3715 Page 2

24

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 2ND SESSION OF THE 59TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE: THAT the Oklahoma State Senate congratulates the OU women's softball team and Coach Patty Gasso for their third straight national championship win. THAT the Oklahoma State Senate expresses appreciation for Coach Patty Gasso and the 2022 and 2023 University of Oklahoma softball teams for the exemplary manner in which they represented the University of Oklahoma and the State of Oklahoma. 59-2-3715 KC 4/3/2024 4:47:08 PM

Req. No. 3715 Page 3