1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	2nd Session of the 59th Legislature (2024)
3	HOUSE
4	RESOLUTION 1036 By: McCall
5	
6	AS INTRODUCED
7	A Resolution congratulating the University of
8	Oklahoma women's gymnastics team for winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association's women's
9	gymnastics national title.
10	
11	WHEREAS, the 2023 University of Oklahoma women's gymnastics
12	team, under the guidance of Head Coach K.J. Kindler, finished with a
13	28-2 record, was ranked No. 1 the entire season and won the
14	program's sixth national championship by tying its own NCAA finals
15	record with a score of 198.3875; and
16	WHEREAS, the Sooners defeated No. 2 Florida, No. 5 Utah, and No.
17	6 LSU to win their second consecutive NCAA championship, third in
18	the last four years and sixth in the last nine years; and
19	WHEREAS, OU posted a nation-leading 10 scores of at least 198,
20	tying its own NCAA single-season record; and
21	WHEREAS, Olivia Trautman won the NCAA vault title, becoming the
22	seventh Sooner and first since 2021 to win an individual national
23	championship; and
24	

Req. No. 10831 Page 1

WHEREAS, eight Sooners earned a total of 10 NCAA All-America honors, including five first-team accolades; and

WHEREAS, six Sooners earned a total of 10 WCGA regular season

All-America honors, with all six earning first-team acclaim and

Jordan Bowers joining Maggie Nichols as the only gymnasts in program

history to garner five All-America honors during a regular season;

and

WHEREAS, Meilin Sullivan was named the NCAA Elite 90 Award winner, becoming the fifth Sooner and second OU gymnast to earn the honor; and

WHEREAS, the Sooners won their 13th straight NCAA regional title to advance to their 19th consecutive NCAA Championships; and

WHEREAS, OU won its 10th conference title in the last 11 years with the highest score in Big 12 Championship history with a 198.400; and

WHEREAS, six Sooners won a total of eight individual conference championships and claimed every event title and the all-around crown; and

WHEREAS, Faith Torrez was honored as Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, Katherine LeVasseur as Big 12 Event Specialist of the Year and Head Coach K.J. Kindler as Big 12 Coach of the Year for the 12th time as a Sooner.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 2ND SESSION OF THE 59TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

Req. No. 10831 Page 2

e

Req. No. 10831 Page 3