1 STATE OF OKLAHOMA 2 1st Session of the 57th Legislature (2019) 3 SENATE BILL NO. 973 By: Daniels 4 5 6 AS INTRODUCED 7 An Act relating to courts; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Sections 1 and 2, which relate to the Supreme Court; 8 clarifying terms of office; modifying Supreme Court Judicial Districts; providing that current Justices 9 retain office and are eligible for retention; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, which relates to 10 the Court of Criminal Appeals; modifying Court of Criminal Appeals judicial districts; providing that 11 current Judges retain office and are eligible for retention; providing for contingency of changes to 12 Congressional Districts; and providing an effective date. 13 14 15 BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA: 16 SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 1, is 17 amended to read as follows: 18 Section 1. The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) justices 19 Justices. Immediately upon the passage and approval of this act, 20 the Governor shall appoint by and with the advice and consent of the 21 Senate one Justice of the Supreme Court from each of the four 22 additional Supreme Court judicial districts hereby created, each of 23 whom shall serve until the second Monday in January, 1919, Each

Req. No. 200 Page 1

Justice in office on January 8, 2020, shall serve the term for which

24

1 the Justice was appointed or retained in office by retention ballot 2 and until his or her successor is elected appointed and qualified, 3 unless the Justice vacates the office prior to the end of his or her 4 term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Justice in 5 office on January 8, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the 6 same office for succeeding terms. 7 SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 2, is 8 amended to read as follows: 9 Section 2. The Beginning January 8, 2020: 10 1. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and 11 include the following counties: Ottawa, Craig, Nowata, Rogers, 12 Washington, Osage, Pawnee, Kay and Grant. Congressional District No. 13 2 as constituted on January 8, 2020; 14 The 2. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and 15 include the following counties: LeFlore, Haskell, Pittsburg, 16 Latimer, Pushmataha, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan, Marshall, Johnston, 17 Atoka, McIntosh and Sequoyah. be an at-large district; 18

The 3. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following county: Oklahoma. Congressional District No. 5 as constituted on January 8, 2020;

19

20

21

22

23

24

The <u>4.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and include the following counties: Beckham, Dewey, Roger Mills, Ellis, Woodward, Woods, Major, Harper, Beaver, Texas, Cimarron, Alfalfa,

1	Garfield, Kingfisher, Blaine, Custer and Washita. Congressional
2	District No. 3 as constituted on January 8, 2020;
3	The <u>5.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and
4	include the following counties: Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Murray,
5	Carter, Love, Grady, Stephens and Jefferson. Congressional District
6	No. 4 as constituted on January 8, 2020;
7	$\frac{1}{2}$ The $\frac{1}{2}$ Supreme Court Judicial District No. 6 shall embrace and
8	include the following county: Tulsa. Congressional District No. 1
9	as constituted on January 8, 2020;
10	The 7. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 7 shall embrace and
11	include the following counties: Muskogee, Creek, Okmulgee, Wagoner,
12	Cherokee, Adair, Delaware and Mayes. be an at-large district;
13	The 8. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 8 shall embrace and
14	include the following counties: Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes,
15	Pontotoc, Coal, Okfuskee, Lincoln, Logan, Payne and Noble. be an at-
16	large district; and
17	The 9. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 9 shall embrace and
18	include the following counties: Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Harmon,
19	Cotton, Comanche, Caddo, Greer and Canadian be an at-large district.
20	SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, is
21	amended to read as follows:
22	Section 33. A. The state is hereby divided into five (5) Court
23	of Criminal Appeals judicial districts <u>Judicial Districts</u> . From
24	each of said the districts candidates for Judge of the Court of

Criminal Appeals shall be nominated and appointed in the manner provided by Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution. All Judges of the Court of Criminal Appeals may seek retention in office pursuant to the provisions of Section 2 of Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution and each Judge shall be voted for by the qualified voters of the state at large.

- B. Beginning January 8, 2020, the boundaries of the Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial Districts shall be the boundaries of the five Oklahoma Congressional Districts as constituted on January 8, 2020, as follows:
- 1. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and include the following counties: Craig, Delaware, Mayes, Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner. Congressional District
 No. 1;
- 2. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and include the following counties: Adair, Cherokee, Cleveland, Creek, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Washington.
 Congressional District No. 3;
- 3. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following counties: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Coal, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh,

Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole, Sequoyah, and Stephens. Congressional District No. 2;

- 4. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and include the following counties: Canadian and Oklahoma. Congressional District No. 5; and
- 5. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and include Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger Mills, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods, and Woodward Congressional District No. 4.
- C. Each Judge in office on January 8, 2020, shall serve the term for which the Judge was appointed or retained in office by retention ballot and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified, unless the Judge vacates the office prior to the end of his or her term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Judge in office on January 8, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the same office for succeeding terms.
- D. If the boundaries of the Congressional Districts change, any such change shall apply to appointments or retention elections

 occurring after the boundary change. If the number of Congressional Districts changes, the number of districts provided for in subsection A of this section shall be changed to equal that number of Congressional Districts; provided, any such change shall apply to

1	appointments or	retention	n elections o	ccurring at	fter the	char	nge in
2	the number of C	Congressior	nal Districts				
3	SECTION 4.	This act	shall become	effective	January	8, 2	2020.
4							
5	57-1-200	TEK	2/6/2019	9:35:03 AM	1		
6							
7							
8							
9							
10							
11							
12							
13							
14							
15							
16							
17							
18							
19							
20							
21							
22							
23							
24							