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FLOOR AMENDMENT

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
State of Oklahoma

SPEAKER :
CHAIR:

I move to amend SB201

Of the printed Bill

Page 19 Section 5 Lines 18 1/2
Of the Engrossed Bill

By inserting a new Section 6 to the bill to read as follows:

(see attached)

and by renumbering the subsequent section of the bill.

AMEND TITLE TO CONFORM TO AMENDMENTS

Amendment submitted by: Mike Reynolds

Adopted:

Reading Clerk
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“SECTION 6. AMENDATORY 68 0.S. 2001, Section 2913, as
last amended by Section 6, Chapter 436, 0.S.L. 2008 (68 0.S. Supp.
2010, Section 2913), is amended to read as follows:

Section 2913. A. All taxes levied upon an ad valorem basis for
each fiscal year shall become due and payable on the first day of
November. Except for mortgage servicers, the exclusive method for
payment shall be as follows:

1. Unless one-half (1/2) of the taxes so levied has been paid
before the first day of January, the entire tax levy for such fiscal
year shall become delinquent on that date.

2. If the first half of the taxes levied upon an ad valorem
basis for any such fiscal year has been paid before the first day of
January, the second half shall be paid before the first day of April
thereafter and if not paid shall become delinquent on that date.

In no event may payment be made in more than two equal
installments subject to the provisions of the payment schedule
specified in this subsection.

B. Mortgage servicers, as defined in 24 C.F.R., part 3500.17,
shall pay all accounts which they are servicing in one annual
payment before the first day of January or the entire tax levy for
such fiscal year shall become delinquent on that date.

C. TIf the total tax owed is Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) or
less, then the total amount must be paid before January 1. If the

total tax is not paid before January 1, the unpaid balance owing

Reg. No. 7670 Page 1




10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

shall become delinquent on the first day of January and shall be
subject to delinguent charges as provided for in this section.

D. All delingquent taxes shall bear interest at the rate of one
and one-half percent (1 1/2%) per month or major fraction thereof
until paid. In no event shall such interest exceed a sum equal to
the unpaid principal amount of tax, and when such interest has
accumulated to a sum equivalent to one hundred percent (100%) of the
unpaid tax the further accumulation of interest shall cease.

E. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law,
delinguent taxes shall be subject to a late payment penalty of five
percent (5%) per month or a major fraction thereof until paid. The
penalty assessed herein shall only apply to delingquent taxes that
are due on property located in a dependent school district in a
county with a population of less than seventy-five thousand (75,000)
according to the most recent Federal Decennial Census and held by a
nonindividual taxpayer when the tax has been paid delinquent for two
(2) or more separate and consecutive years and the fair cash value
of the property exceeds Five Hundred Thousand Dollars ($500,000.00).

F. 1In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, the

person shall be prohibited from renewing his or her driver license

as provided in Section 6-115 of Title 47 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

The Department of Public Safety is hereby authorized to deny the

issuance of a renewal driver license to the person for nonpayment of

ad valorem taxes. The person may apply for a renewal driver license
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upon providing proof to the Department of Public Safety that the

unpaid balance of the taxes and additional delinquent charges have

been paid in full by the person.

G. The county treasurer shall stamp the date of receipt on each
letter received containing funds for payment of taxes and no
interest shall be added or charged after the receipt of such letter
or the amount due. It shall be the duty of every person subject to
taxation according to the law to attend the county treasurer's
office and pay his or her taxes. If any person neglects to pay his
or her taxes until after they have become delinquent, the county
treasurer is directed and required to collect the delinquent tax as
provided for by law. The first half of taxes payable pursuant to
the provisions of this section shall not become delinquent until
thirty (30) days after the tax rolls have become completed and filed
by the county assessor with the county treasurer.

6+ H. The county treasurer may waive penalties or interest in
any case where it is shown to the county treasurer that such
penalties or interest were incurred through no fault of the
taxpayer. Each waiver of penalties or interest shall be audited by

the Office of the State Auditor and Inspector each year during the

annual audit of the county offices.”

53-1-7670 GRS 04/26/11
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