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                         Reading Clerk 

 

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT 
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 

State of Oklahoma 

 

 SPEAKER:  

 

 CHAIR:  

 

I move to amend  SB1436                                          

           Of the printed Bill 

Page    1          Section               Lines    14 1/2                     

              Of the Engrossed Bill 

 

 

By inserting a new Section 2 to read as follows: 

 

(INSERT ATTACHED); 

 

And by renumbering subsequent sections 
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 “SECTION ___.     AMENDATORY     68 O.S. 2011, Section 1218, is 

amended to read as follows: 

Section 1218.  A.  For Except as otherwise provided by this 

subsection, tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, there 

is hereby levied on each person doing business in this state an 

annual tax in the amount of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00).  No sole 

proprietor or lawfully recognized business entity having gross 

revenue of less than One Million Dollars ($1,000,000.00) per year 

shall be required to pay the tax otherwise authorized by this 

subsection. 

B.  In addition to the tax levied in subsection A of this 

section, there shall be levied a tax equal to one percent (1%) of 

the net revenue derived from business activity that is allocated or 

apportioned to Oklahoma.  No sole proprietor or lawfully recognized 

business entity having gross revenue of less than One Million 

Dollars ($1,000,000.00) per year shall be required to pay the tax 

otherwise authorized by this subsection. 

C.  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection B of this 

section for tax years 2010, 2011, and 2012, corporations and any 

other persons subject to the franchise tax levied under the 

provisions of Sections 1203, 1204 or 1205 of Title 68 of the 

Oklahoma Statutes this title, the tax due under this section shall 

be equal to the amount such person paid or was required to pay for 

the taxable period ending prior to December 31, 2010.  
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 D.  Except as provided in subsections A and C of this section, 

no person shall be required to remit the tax levied pursuant to 

subsection B of this section for tax years 2010, 2011, and 2012. 

E.  The tax hereby levied shall be payable annually as provided 

in Section 7 of this act. 

F.  The tax so levied or imposed pursuant to this section, when 

paid in full as provided in this act, or if not paid as a result of 

the exemption based on gross revenue authorized pursuant to 

subsection A or subsection B of this section, shall be in lieu of 

any and all other taxes imposed by the state, counties, cities, 

towns, townships, school districts, and other municipalities or 

political subdivisions of the state on intangible personal property 

of each such person, except for public service corporations, 

railroads and air carriers. 

G.  The tax remitted in 2011 shall also be in lieu of the ad 

valorem tax on intangible personal property of each such person, 

except for public service corporations, railroads and air carriers 

for the calendar years 2007, 2008, and 2009 in which the person was 

doing business in the state.  No taxpayer shall be entitled to nor 

be allowed any refund of taxes paid upon intangible personal 

property prior to the effective date of this act.  Upon the 

effective date of this act, there shall be no changes in the 

valuation methodology of personal property, and the valuation 
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 methodology of personal property for the January 1, 2010, assessment 

year shall be maintained and preserved. 

H.  A person is doing business in this state if any one of the 

paragraphs in this subsection applies.  The person: 

1.  Is domiciled in this state as an individual for business 

purposes or is domiciled in this state for corporate, commercial or 

other business purposes; 

2.  Owns or uses a part or all of its capital in this state; 

3.  Has at any time during the calendar year property in this 

state with an aggregate value of at least Fifty Thousand Dollars 

($50,000.00).  For the purpose of this subsection, owned property is 

valued at original cost and rented property is valued at eight times 

the net annual rental charge; 

4.  Has during the calendar year payroll in this state of at 

least Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00).  Payroll in this state 

includes all of the following: 

a. any amount subject to withholding by the person under 

Section 2385.2 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes 

this title, 

b. any other amount the person pays as compensation to an 

individual under the supervision or control of the 

person for work done in this state, and 

c. any amount the person pays for services performed in 

this state on its behalf by another; 
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 5.  Has during the calendar year sales in this state of at least 

Five Hundred Thousand Dollars ($500,000.00);  

6.  Has at any time during the calendar year within this state 

at least twenty-five percent (25%) of the person’s total property, 

total payroll, or total sales; or 

7.  Otherwise has nexus with this state to an extent that the 

person can be required to remit the tax imposed under this act under 

the Constitution of the United States.” 

 

53-2-10206 MAH 04/03/12 

 


