HB1411 FA2 ReynoldsMi-GRS
2/17/2009 3:49:30 pm

FLOOR AMENDMENT

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
State of Oklahoma

SPEAKER :
CHAIR:

I move to amend HB1411

Of the printed Bill

Page 3 Section 1 Lines 10 1/2
Of the Engrossed Bill

By inserting a new Section 2 to read as follows:
(see attached)

and by renumbering the subsequent section of the bill.

AMEND TITLE TO CONFORM TO AMENDMENTS

Amendment submitted by: Mike Reynolds

Adopted:

Reading Clerk
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“SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 21 0.S. 2001, Section 1290.15, is
amended to read as follows:

Section 1290.15

PERSONS EXEMPT FROM TRAINING COURSE

A. The following individuals may be exempt from all or part of
the required training and qualification course established pursuant
to the provisions of Section 1290.14 of this title:

1. A firearms instructor registered with the Oklahoma State
Bureau of Investigation for purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense
Act;

2. An active duty law enforcement officer of this state or any
of its political subdivisions or of the federal government;

3. A retired law enforcement officer authorized by this state
pursuant to Section 1289.8 of this title to carry a firearm;

4. A CLEET-certified armed security officer, armed guard,
correctional officer, or any other person having a CLEET
certification to carry a firearm in the course of their employment;

5. A person on active military duty, National Guard duty or
regular military reserve duty who is a legal resident of this state
and who is trained and qualified in the use of handguns;

6. A person honorably discharged from active military duty,

National Guard duty or military reserves within twenty (26} ears
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who is a legal resident of this state, and who has been trained and
qualified in the use of handguns;

7. A person retired as a peace officer in good standing from a
law enforcement agency located in another state, who is a legal
resident of this state, and who has received training equivalent to
the training required for CLEET certification in this state; and

8. Any person who is otherwise deemed qualified for a training
exemption by CLEET.

Provided, however, persons applying for an exemption pursuant to
paragraph 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 of this subsection may be required to
successfully complete the classroom portion of the training course.
The classroom portion of the training course shall not exceed a fee
of Thirty Dollars ($30.00).

B. The Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training
(CLEET) shall establish criteria for providing proof of an
exemption. Before any person shall be considered exempt from all or
part of the required training and gqualification pursuant to the
provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Section 1290.1 et seq.
of this title, the person shall present the required proof of
exemption to a registered firearms instructor. Each person
determined to be exempt from training or qualification as provided
in this subsection shall receive an exemption certificate from the
registered firearms instructor. The rules promulgated by CLEET to

implement the provisions of this section and Section 1290.14 of this
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title may require that a fee not to exceed Five Dollars ($5.00) be
charged for processing an exemption certificate. The original
exemption certificate must be submitted with an application for a
handgun license as provided in paragraph 2 of Section 1290.12 of
this title. No person who is determined to be exempt from training
or qualification may carry a concealed firearm pursuant to the
authority of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act until issued a wvalid
handgun license.

C. Nothing contained in any provision of the Oklahoma Self-
Defense Act shall be construed to alter, amend, or modify the
authority of any active duty law enforcement officer, or any person
certified by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training
to carry a pistol during the course of their employment, from
carrying any pistol in any manner authorized by law or authorized by

the employing agency.”

52-1-6898 GRS 02/17/09
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