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TERRILL of the House. 

 [ motor vehicles - specifying limit on liability - provide certificate for license 
plate - permitting owners of trailers to register - codification - effective date ] 

SECTION 1.     AMENDATORY     47 O.S. 2001, Section 1121, is amended to read 1 

as follows: 2 

Section 1121.  A.  When, at the time of registration of any vehicle, payment is made 3 

by check for fees and taxes, and the check is not paid by the bank on which drawn for any 4 

reason, after said the check has been presented for payment a second time, such 5 

certificate of registration and other such instruments issued at the time of registration of 6 

such vehicle shall be invalid.  The motor license agent shall transmit all documents and 7 

the dishonored check to the Oklahoma Tax Commission for credit to the motor license 8 

agent's account.  The Tax Commission may enter into a contract for the collection of 9 

dishonored checks and canceled instruments.  In all such cases, such vehicles shall be 10 

subject to the license fees and penalties provided in this act as though no attempt to 11 

register the vehicle had been made, and the motor license agent shall charge the person 12 
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issuing the check a fee of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) for each check to cover the costs of 1 

processing each returned check.  An individual who subsequently purchases any such 2 

vehicle shall not be required, as a condition for registration of the vehicle, to pay any 3 

penalties imposed by this section tax, fee or penalty due resulting from the dishonored 4 

check. 5 

A mortgagee who repossesses any such vehicle shall not be required, as a condition 6 

for registration of said the vehicle, to pay the dishonored check penalties which had 7 

accrued as of the date of such repossession. 8 

B.  Whenever payment is made by check for any Oklahoma driver's driver license, 9 

and the check is not paid by the bank on which drawn for any reason, after said the 10 

check has been presented for payment a second time, such driver's driver license shall be 11 

invalid, and all driving privileges of the holder of the driver's driver license shall be 12 

canceled.  The motor license agent shall transmit the dishonored check to the Oklahoma 13 

Tax Commission for credit to the motor license agents account.  The Tax Commission 14 

may enter into a contract for the collection of dishonored checks.  The motor license agent 15 

shall charge the person issuing the check a fee of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) for each 16 

check to cover the cost of processing each returned check.  The motor license agent shall 17 

transmit a copy of all documents associated with the application and issuance of the 18 

driver's driver license and a copy of the dishonored check to the Department of Public 19 

Safety. 20 

SECTION 2.     AMENDATORY     47 O.S. 2001, Section 1128, is amended to read 21 

as follows: 22 
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Section 1128.  A.  Every person manufacturing or having a contract to sell new 1 

vehicles in this state shall file a verified application for a general distinctive number for 2 

all new vehicles owned or controlled by the manufacturer or dealer; provided, the 3 

Oklahoma Tax Commission shall issue a license to sell such new motor vehicles only for 4 

those types of new vehicles for which the applicant has a sales contract or franchise; 5 

provided, further, that no license shall be issued to any applicant that has not complied 6 

with the provisions of Sections 561 through 568 of this title and does not hold a current 7 

license issued by the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant thereto.  A separate 8 

manufacturer's or dealer's license shall be required for each separate county within 9 

which such manufacturer or dealer has an established place of business, and, upon 10 

payment of a license fee of Ten Dollars ($10.00), there shall be assigned and issued to 11 

such manufacturer or dealer a Certificate of Registration and one license plate which 12 

shall be displayed upon each vehicle of such manufacturer or dealer when same is 13 

operated, driven, or displayed on any street, road, or highway, in the same manner as 14 

hereinbefore provided for vehicles owned by other persons.  Such a manufacturer or 15 

dealer in new vehicles may obtain as many additional license plates as may be desired, 16 

upon the payment of the sum of Ten Dollars ($10.00) for each additional plate; provided 17 

that no such license plate issued to any manufacturer or dealer shall be used or displayed 18 

upon any secondhand or used vehicle, or upon any new vehicle which is used for a service 19 

car, or private use, or for hire.  Any person, with consent of the dealer, may operate a 20 

motor vehicle, with the dealer's tag affixed, while contemplating purchase, so long as this 21 

intent is limited to a consecutive seventy-two-hour period, or a weekend.  An individual 22 
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holding a valid salesman's license issued by the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission 1 

shall not be subject to this limitation.  If such person also buys and sells used vehicles, he 2 

or she shall, after obtaining his or her new motor vehicle dealer's license from the 3 

Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission, also obtain a used motor vehicle dealer's license, 4 

from the Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, the cost of which shall be as 5 

prescribed in Section 1101 et seq. of this title. 6 

B.  Each dealer and used motor vehicle dealer shall keep a record of the purchase 7 

and sale of each motor vehicle he or she buys or sells, which shall show the name of the 8 

seller or buyer, as the case may be, and a complete description of the vehicle purchased 9 

or sold, and such other information as the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission may 10 

prescribe. 11 

C.  Application for manufacturer's or dealer's license must show that such dealer or 12 

manufacturer has not violated any of the provisions of this section; and such license shall 13 

be nonassignable; and any such license may be suspended temporarily or revoked by the 14 

Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission for violation or failure to comply with this section,; 15 

provided, the holder of such license shall be given ten (10) days' notice of hearing to 16 

suspend or cancel such license.  If any such person subject to any of the licenses required 17 

in this section fails to obtain it when due, a penalty of twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day 18 

on each such license shall be charged in the same manner as is now provided on 19 

delinquent motor vehicle registrations, and after a period of thirty (30) days such penalty 20 

shall be equal to the license fee.  It shall be the duty of every person licensed to sell new 21 

or used motor vehicles to advise each purchaser in writing about his or her title 22 
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requirements and payment of any taxes due.  Each used motor vehicle must display a 1 

proper Oklahoma license plate or a used dealer's license plate.  Dealers failing to comply 2 

with provisions of this section shall be responsible for all taxes due on such sales or on 3 

such vehicles. 4 

D.  Every person engaged in the business of transporting and delivering new or 5 

used vehicles by driving, either singly or by towbar, saddle mount or full mount method, 6 

engaging in drive-away operations as defined in Section 3 of Title 85 of the Oklahoma 7 

Statutes, or any combination thereof, from the manufacturer or shipper to the dealer or 8 

consignee and using the public highways of this state, shall file with the Oklahoma 9 

Motor Vehicle Commission a verified application for in-transit license plates to identify 10 

such vehicles.  The application shall provide for a general distinctive number for all 11 

vehicles so transported.  Upon payment of a license fee of Ten Dollars ($10.00) there shall 12 

be assigned and issued to such person one in-transit plate.  Such in-transit plate shall be 13 

used by such person only on vehicles when so transported.  Such person may obtain as 14 

many additional in-transit plates as desired upon payment of a fee of Ten Dollars 15 

($10.00) for each additional plate.  Provided, a used motor vehicle dealer shall use a used 16 

dealer license plate in lieu of the in-transit license plate for transporting a used motor 17 

vehicle and, in such cases, shall be exempt from making application for an in-transit 18 

license plate.  Provided further, only a person who possesses a certificate issued by the 19 

Interstate Commerce Commission or the Corporation Commission motor carrier number 20 

issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or a united carrier 21 

registration issued by the Oklahoma Corporation Commission to engage in the business 22 
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of transporting and delivering manufactured homes for hire may use the in-transit 1 

license plates obtained by them as herein authorized for transporting new or used 2 

manufactured homes from one location to another location within Oklahoma or from a 3 

point in another state to a point in this state.  Nothing contained in this section shall 4 

relieve any person from the payment of license fees otherwise provided by law.  When the 5 

Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission deems it advisable and in the public interest, it 6 

may require the holder of any in-transit license, or any person making application 7 

therefor, to file a proper surety bond in any amount it deems proper, not to exceed Ten 8 

Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00). 9 

E.  The Oklahoma Tax Commission shall issue dealer licenses to new and used 10 

manufactured home dealers, new and used travel trailer dealers and new and used 11 

commercial trailer dealers. 12 

F.  All licenses provided for in this section shall expire on December 31 of each year. 13 

SECTION 3.     NEW LAW     A new section of law to be codified in the Oklahoma 14 

Statutes as Section 1133.3 of Title 47, unless there is created a duplication in numbering, 15 

reads as follows: 16 

At the option of the owner, the Oklahoma Tax Commission is authorized to register 17 

boat trailers and utility-type trailers which are not being utilized in a commercial 18 

capacity, on an annual basis for a fee of One Dollar ($1.00). 19 

SECTION 4.  This act shall become effective November 1, 2008. 20 

COMMITTEE REPORT BY: COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AND BUDGET, 21 
dated 04-14-08 - DO PASS, As Amended. 22 


