HB2232 FA1 SmithsonGIl-GRS
3/11/2008 10:44:36 am

FLOOR AMENDMENT

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
State of Oklahoma

SPEAKER :
CHAIR:

I move to amend HB2232

Of the printed Bill

Page 1 Section 1 Lines 1/2
Of the Engrossed Bill

By inserting new Sections 1 through 5 to read as follows:

(see below)

and by renumbering the subsequent sections of the bill.

AMEND TITLE TO CONFORM TO AMENDMENTS

Amendment submitted by: Glen Smithson

Adopted:

Reading Clerk
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“SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 21 O0.S. 2001, Section 1289.19, is
amended to read as follows:
Section 1289.19 As used in Sections 1289.20 through 1289.22 of

this title and Section 2 1289.26 of this aet title:

1. "Restricted bullet" means a round or elongated missile with
a core of less than sixty percent (60%) lead and having a
fluorocarbon coating, which is designed to travel at a high velocity
and is capable of penetrating body armor; arnd

2. “Armor-piercing bullet” means any ammunition designed

primarily to penetrate body armor; and

3. "Body armor" means a vest or shirt of ten (10) plies or more
of bullet resistant material as defined by the Office of
Development, Testing and Dissemination, a division of the United

States Department of Justice and designed to provide ballistic and

trauma protection for the wearer or holder.

SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 21 0.S. 2001, Section 1289.20, is
amended to read as follows:
Section 1289.20
MANUFACTURE OF RESTRICTED BULLETS
A. Except for the purpose of public safety or national
security, it shall be unlawful to manufacture, cause to be
manufactured, import, advertise for sale or sell within this state

any restricted bullet or armor-piercing bullet as defined in Section

1289.19 of this title.
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B. Any person convicted of violating subsection A of this
section shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by a fine
of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Ten
Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00), or by imprisonment in the State

Penitentiary custody of the Department of Corrections for not more

than ten (10) years, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 21 0.S. 2001, Section 1289.21, is
amended to read as follows:
Section 1289.21
POSSESSION OR USE OF RESTRICTED BULLETS
A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess, carry upon
his person, use or attempt to use against another person any

restricted bullet or armor-piercing bullet as defined in Section

1289.19 of this title.
B. Any person convicted of violating subsection A of this

section shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by

imprisonment in the State Penitentiary custody of the Department of

Corrections for not less than two (2) years nor more than ten (10)

years. The sentence so imposed shall not be suspended.

SECTION 4. AMENDATORY 21 0.8. 2001, Section 1289.22, is
amended to read as follows:

Section 1289.22 The prohibition of possessing or using a

restricted bullet or armor-piercing bullet shall not apply to law
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enforcement agencies when such bullet is used for testing, training
or demonstration.
SECTION 5. AMENDATORY 21 0.S. 2001, Section 1290.6, is

amended to read as follows:

Section 1290.6

PROHIBITED AMMUNITION

Any concealed handgun when carried in a manner authorized by the

provisions of the

Oklahoma Self-Defense Act,

Seetions—1—threugh 25

of+thisaet+ when loaded with any ammunition which is either a

restricted bullet

or armor-piercing bullet as defined by Section

1289.19 of Fitlte 21 of the Oklaohoma Statutes this title or is larger

than .45 caliber or is otherwise prohibited by law shall be deemed a

prohibited weapon for purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be

punished for a criminal offense as provided by Section 1272 of Fitle

21—of the OklahomaStatutes this title or any other applicable

provision of law.

violation of the provisions of this section,

In addition to any criminal prosecution for a

subject to an administrative fine of Five Hundred Dollars

the licensee shall be

($500.00),

upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of

Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of

this section.”
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