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SECTION  4.     NEW LAW     A new section of law to be codified in the Oklahoma Statutes 

as Section 415.3 of Title 40, unless there is created a duplication in numbering, reads as follows: 

A.  Any person who is not required to be covered under a workers' compensation insurance 

policy or other plan for the payment of workers' compensation may apply to the Commissioner of 

Labor for a "Certificate of Noncoverage Under the Workers' Compensation Act".  Applications shall 

be made on forms prescribed by the Commissioner and shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable 

application fee in an amount to be set by the Commissioner by rule not to exceed Ten Dollars 

($10.00) for a one-year certificate or Twenty Dollars ($20.00) for a two-year certificate. 

B.  The Commissioner of Labor shall issue a certificate to any individual whom the 

Commissioner finds, after reasonable inquiry, to be exempt from the definition of employee under 

Section 3 of Title 85 of the Oklahoma Statutes.  Issuance of the certificate by the Commissioner shall 

establish a rebuttable presumption that the filer is not an employee for purposes of the Workers' 

Compensation Act. 

C.  The Commissioner of Labor shall develop necessary procedures for determining eligibility 

for the certificates. 

D.  Except as otherwise provided in Section 11 of Title 85 of the Oklahoma Statutes, the filing 

of a certificate shall not affect the rights or coverage of any employee of the individual filing the 

certificate. 

E.  1.  Knowingly providing false information to the Department of Labor for the purpose of 

obtaining a "Certificate of Noncoverage Under the Workers' Compensation Act" shall constitute a 

misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00). 

2.  Application forms for such certificates shall conspicuously state on the front thereof in at 

least ten-point bold-faced print that it is a crime to falsify information on the form. 



3.  The Commissioner of Labor shall immediately notify the Workers' Compensation Fraud 

Unit in the Office of the Attorney General of any violations or suspected violations of this section.  

The Commissioner shall cooperate with the Fraud Unit in any investigation involving certificates 

issued pursuant to this section. 

F.  Application fees collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the State Treasury 

to the credit of the Workers' Compensation Enforcement Revolving Fund. 

SECTION 5.     NEW LAW     A new section of law to be codified in the Oklahoma Statutes 

as Section 415.4 of Title 40, unless there is created a duplication in numbering, reads as follows: 

In addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, any employer who knowingly and willfully 

requires an employee or subcontractor to obtain a Certificate of Non-Coverage under Section 415.1 

of Title 40 of the Oklahoma Statutes when the employer knows that the employee or subcontractor is 

not eligible for a Certificate of Noncoverage shall be liable for a civil penalty, to be assessed by the 

Commissioner of Labor or the Commissioner's designee, of not more than Five Hundred Dollars 

($500.00) for a first offense, and shall be liable for a civil penalty of not more than One Thousand 

Dollars ($1,000.00) for a second or subsequent offense.  All civil penalties collected pursuant to this 

section shall be deposited into the Workers' Compensation Enforcement Revolving Fund. 

SECTION 6.     AMENDATORY     85 O.S. 2001, Section 11, is amended to read as follows: 

Section 11.  A.  Every employer subject to the provisions of the Workers' Compensation Act 

shall pay, or provide as required by the Workers' Compensation Act, compensation according to the 

schedules of the Workers' Compensation Act for the disability or death of an employee resulting 

from an accidental personal injury sustained by the employee arising out of and in the course of 

employment, without regard to fault as a cause of such injury, and in the event of disability only, 

except as follows: 



1.  An injury occasioned by the willful intention of the injured employee to bring about injury 

to himself or herself, or another; 

2.  An injury resulting directly from the willful failure of the injured employee to use a guard 

or protection against accident furnished for use pursuant to any statute or by order of the 

Commissioner of Labor; 

3.  An injury which occurs when an employee is using substances defined and consumed 

pursuant to Section 465.20 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or is using or abusing alcohol or 

illegal drugs, or is illegally using chemicals; provided, this paragraph shall only apply when the 

employee is unable to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the substances, alcohol, illegal 

drugs, or illegally used chemicals were not the proximate cause of the injury or accident.  For the 

purposes of this paragraph, post-accident alcohol or drug testing results shall be admissible as 

evidence; and 

4.  Except for innocent victims, an injury caused by a prank, horseplay, or similar willful or 

intentional behavior. 

B.  Liability of any person, firm, or corporation having an interest in the subject matter, 

employers and contracting employers, general or intermediate, for compensation under the Workers' 

Compensation Act, when other than the immediate employer of the injured employee, shall be as 

follows: 

1.  The independent contractor shall, at all times, be liable for compensation due to his or her 

direct employees, or the employees of any subcontractor of such independent contractor, and the 

principal employer shall also be liable in the manner hereinafter specified for compensation due all 

direct employees, employees of the independent contractors, subcontractors, or other employees 

engaged in the general employer's business; provided, however, if an independent contractor relies in 

good faith on proof of a valid workers' compensation insurance policy issued to a subcontractor of 



the independent contractor or on proof of a Certification Certificate of Non-Coverage Noncoverage 

Under the Workers' Compensation Act filed by the subcontractor with the Commissioner of Labor 

under Section 415.1 415.3 of Title 40 of the Oklahoma Statutes, then the independent contractor 

shall not be liable for injuries of any employees of the subcontractor.  Provided further, such 

independent contractor shall not be liable for injuries of any subcontractor of the independent 

contractor unless an employer-employee relationship is found to exist by the Workers' Compensation 

Court despite the filing of a Certification Certificate of Non-Coverage Noncoverage Under the 

Workers' Compensation Act. 

2.  The person entitled to such compensation shall have the right to recover the same directly 

from the person’s immediate employer, the independent contractor or intermediate contractor, and 

such claims may be presented against all such persons in one proceeding.  If it appears in such 

proceeding that the principal employer has failed to require a compliance with the Workers' 

Compensation Act of this state, by the independent contractor, then such employee may proceed 

against such principal employer without regard to liability of any independent, intermediate or other 

contractor; provided, however, if a principal employer relies in good faith on proof of a valid 

workers' compensation insurance policy issued to an independent contractor of the employer or to a 

subcontractor of the independent contractor or on proof of a Certification Certificate of Non-

Coverage Noncoverage Under the Workers' Compensation Act filed by the independent contractor or 

subcontractor with the Commissioner of Labor under Section 415.1 415.3 of Title 40 of the 

Oklahoma Statutes, then the principal employer shall not be liable for injuries of any employees of 

the independent contractor or subcontractor.  Provided further, such principal employer shall not be 

liable for injuries of any independent contractor of the employer or of any subcontractor of the 

independent contractor unless an employer-employee relationship is found to exist by the Workers' 

Compensation Court despite the filing of a Certification Certificate of Non-Coverage Noncoverage 



Under the Workers' Compensation Act.  Provided, however, in any proceeding where compensation 

is awarded against the principal employer under the provisions hereof, such award shall not preclude 

the principal employer from recovering the same, and all expense in connection with said proceeding 

from any independent contractor, intermediate contractor or subcontractor whose duty it was to 

provide security for the payment of such compensation, and such recovery may be had by 

supplemental proceedings in the cause before the Court or by an independent action in any court of 

competent jurisdiction to enforce liability of contracts. 

3.  Where work is performed on a single family residential dwelling or its premises occupied 

by the owner, or for a farmer whose cash payroll for wages, excluding supplies, materials and 

equipment, for the preceding calendar year did not exceed One Hundred Thousand Dollars 

($100,000.00), such owner or farmer shall not be liable for compensation under the Workers' 

Compensation Act.  Such owner or farmer shall not be liable to the employee of any independent 

contractor or subcontractor, where applicable, or the farmer's own employee. 

4.  Where compensation is payable for an occupational disease, the employer in whose 

employment the employee was last injuriously exposed to the hazards of such disease and the 

insurance carrier, if any, on the risk when such employee was last so exposed under such employer, 

shall alone be liable therefor, without right to contribution from any prior employer or insurance 

carrier; provided, however, that in the case of silicosis or asbestosis, the only employer and insurance 

carrier liable shall be the last employer in whose employment the employee was last exposed to 

harmful quantities of silicon dioxide (SiO 2) dust on each of at least sixty (60) days or more, and the 

insurance carrier, if any, on the risk when the employee was last so exposed under such employer. 

5.  Where compensation is payable for an injury resulting from cumulative trauma, the last 

employer in whose employment the employee was last injuriously exposed to the trauma during a 

period of at least ninety (90) days or more, and the insurance carrier, if any, on the risk when the 



employee was last so exposed under such employer, shall alone be liable therefor, without right to 

contribution from any prior employer or insurance carrier.  If there is no employer in whose 

employment the employee was injuriously exposed to the trauma for a period of at least ninety (90) 

days, then the last employer in whose employment the employee was last injuriously exposed to the 

trauma and the insurance carrier, if any, on the risk when such employee was last so exposed under 

such employer, shall be liable therefor, with right to contribution from any prior employer or 

insurance carrier. 

 


