
 

 

 

 

STATE OF OKLAHOMA 

1st Session of the 45th Legislature (1995) 

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE 

FOR 

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 27 By: Wright and Taylor of the 

Senate 

 

 and 

 

Johnson and Ferguson of 

the House 

 

 

 

 

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE 

A Joint Resolution waiving certain review period; approving 

certain rules submitted by the Department of Environmental 

Quality; directing Department to not collect certain fee; 

directing Department to assess and collect certain fees; 

and declaring an emergency.  

 

 

 

 

 

WHEREAS, in 1990 the Congress of the United States passed the 

Federal Clean Air Act amendments; and 

WHEREAS, the Federal Clean Air Act amendments established 

presumptive fees for states without their own air quality programs; 

and 

WHEREAS, in 1991 the Oklahoma Legislature and Governor Walters 

enacted the Oklahoma Clean Air Act in furtherance of their 

determination to implement Oklahoma control over air quality 

programs in Oklahoma; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 2-5-113 of Title 27A, as a part of 

the Oklahoma Clean Air Act, the Legislature authorized the 

Department of Environmental Quality to establish an air quality fee 

of $10.00 per ton of regulated pollutants beginning 1993.  

Thereafter, following rulemaking the annual operating fee was to be 

$25.00 or such amount either higher or lower as was determined to 
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adequately reflect the demonstrated reasonable cost of the operating 

permit program; and 

WHEREAS, on May 26, 1994, the Board of Environmental Quality 

promulgated rules setting the fee at $25.00 per ton of regulated air 

pollutants beginning January 1, 1995, subject to an air quality fee 

study; and 

WHEREAS, The purpose of the study was to demonstrate the state's 

ability to implement an air quality program in Oklahoma in lieu of 

the presumptive fees set forth in the Federal Clean Air Act; and 

WHEREAS, the study was completed after extensive public hearings 

and recommendations by the Air Quality Council.  The study 

recommended that the regulated air pollutant fees be approximately 

$15.20 in 1995 and approximately $18.20 in 1998; and 

WHEREAS, permanent and emergency amendments to rules numbered 

and identified as OAC 252:100-8-2 and OAC 252:100-8-9 were duly 

adopted by the Environmental Quality Board on November 30, 1994, 

which reduced the $25.00 regulated air pollutants fees effective 

January 1, 1995, to $15.19 per ton of regulated air pollutants.  In 

addition, the rules authorized the Department of Environmental 

Quality to assess an additional charge of $1.00 per ton for 

regulated air pollutants if either the Tulsa City/County Health 

Department or the Oklahoma City/County Health Department failed to 

renew their contract to provide services necessary to implement the 

requirements of the Oklahoma Clean Air Act; and 

WHEREAS, the time limits imposed by the Oklahoma Administrative 

Procedures Act expired before Governor Frank Keating could take 

action on the emergency rules; and 

WHEREAS, because the proposed emergency rules, based on 

statutory authorization, did not become effective, Section 2-5-113 

of Title 27A of the Oklahoma Statutes and permanent rules 

promulgated thereto setting the $25.00 per ton of regulated air 

pollutants became effective January 1, 1995; and 
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WHEREAS, it is not the intent of the Legislature that fees in 

excess of the demonstrated reasonable cost be charged to Oklahoma 

businesses; and 

WHEREAS, proposed permanent rules were duly submitted to the 

Legislature on December 9, 1994; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 308 of Title 75 of the Oklahoma 

Statutes, the Legislature has reserved the right to waive its 

thirty-legislative-day review period and approve proposed permanent 

rules. 

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF 

REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 45TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:  

SECTION 1.  The Legislature hereby waives its thirty-

legislative-day review period and approves OAC 252:100-8-2 and OAC 

252:100-8-9 which specifically provides for a $15.19 per ton of 

regulated air pollutants and which authorizes the Department of 

Environmental Quality to assess an additional charge of $1.00 per 

ton for regulated air pollutants if either the Tulsa City/County 

Health Department or the Oklahoma City/County Health Department 

fails to renew their contract to provide services necessary to 

implement the requirements of the Oklahoma Clean Air Act. 

SECTION 2.  The Department of Environmental Quality is hereby 

directed not to collect the $25.00 fee for regulated air pollutants 

set by Section 2-5-113 of Title 27A of the Oklahoma Statutes and 

permanent rules promulgated thereto due and owing by Oklahoma 

businesses between January 1, 1995 and the enactment of this 

resolution but shall assess and collect only the fees established by 

Section 1 of this resolution and OAC 252:100-8-9. 

SECTION 3.  It being immediately necessary for the preservation 

of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is hereby 

declared to exist, by reason whereof this act shall take effect and 

be in full force from and after its passage and approval.  
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