ENROLLED HOUSE

RESOLUTION NO. 1023 BY: MONSON, APPLE, BOYD, BRYANT, CROCKER, CULVER, DAVIS, GLOVER, HAMILTON (James), HAMILTON (Jeff), HEFNER, HILLIARD, HUTCHCROFT, JOHNSON (Rob), KINNAMON, MASS, MATLOCK, MITCHELL, NIEMI, PAULK, PELTIER, PILGRIM, RHOADS (Karroll), SATTERFIELD, SEIKEL, SETTLE, SMITH (Dale), STEIDLEY, STITES, STOTTLEMYRE, SULLIVAN, TYLER, WEAVER, WILLIAMS and YORK

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND PRAISING LANGSTON UNIVERSITY FOR PROVIDING AN OUTSTANDING PROGRAM; AND DIRECTING DISTRIBUTION.

WHEREAS, there is significant need for management training in the private nonprofit sector; and

WHEREAS, while there are hundreds of management programs to train leaders in business and government, there are very few programs for managers in the nonprofit economy; and

WHEREAS, the number of nonprofit organizations in the United States has grown remarkably in the last quarter of the century to an estimated current 1.2 million; and

WHEREAS, Langston University has responded to this need for management training in the nonprofit sector; and

WHEREAS, no other college or university in Oklahoma currently offers a management program which gives primary attention to the unique needs of nonprofit managers; and

WHEREAS, Langston University has shown great initiative and foresight in establishing such a needed program; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate for the Legislature of this state to recognize distinguished programs and meritorious projects.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 43RD OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT Langston University be commended and praised for their outstanding graduate program in nonprofit organizations, in the school of business, which will reenforce and enrich Langston University to the Sooner State.

THAT copies of this resolution be distributed to Ernest L. Holloway, Ed.D., President of Langston University, to the Board of Regents of Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical Colleges and to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

Adopted by the House of Representatives the 31st day of May,

1991.